Time4Learning.com (Review)

When my wife and I decided to homeschool our son because of bullying issues at his school, we needed to find a homeschool curriculum provider quickly.  Although we’d been thinking of homeschooling Jakob for a few weeks, we really hadn’t researched the possible choices for curriculum and found ourselves panicking a little.  West Virginia state law mentions something about providing an outline of instruction when you first notify the school board of your intent to homeschool.  Since we felt Jakob’s safety was in immediate danger we wanted to have something in place in case an outline of instruction was requested of us.

Many homeschool programs cost hundreds of dollars up front since you pay for them a year at a time.  While that cost certainly wasn’t completely out of our reach, it wouldn’t have been easy for us to come up with the money fast enough to have a program in place to begin homeschooling Jakob immediately.  I came across Time4Learning.com on some homeschool review sites, however, and both the positive reviews and the low monthly cost ($19.95 a month, with a two-week money-back guarantee and the ability to cancel at any time) convinced me to give it a try.

I’m glad I did.  We’re only a week into the program, but we can already tell this is definitely the right one for us.  The lessons provided by Time4Learning are comprehensive but fun.  It’s more or less self-directed, but I find myself wanting to be right there next to Jakob as he goes through his lessons, both to help him understand the lesson and to learn a few things myself!  The different subjects are presented in different formats (the math lessons are often presented by animated “teachers,” while language arts features appropriately features more actual self-guided reading), ensuring that learning doesn’t become monotonous.  Time4Learning makes it easy to track Jakob’s progress, and redoing lessons that give him trouble is a snap.  Lesson plans and progress reports are both thorough yet easy to read and understand.  Time4Learning takes a lot of the stress out of the somewhat overwhelming thought of homeschooling.

There’s more to school, and to learning, than math, social studies, science, and language arts.  Because the lessons are self-directed, it frees Tiffany and I up to plan extracurricular activities for Jakob.  Tiffany has plenty of time to provide art instruction (although, after a month in the program, Time4Art opens up for students) and PE, and I’m enjoying covering creative writing techniques with him.  I honestly feel that, thanks to Time4Learning, Jakob will learn more, and have a more well-rounded educational experience, through homeschooling than he could through the public school system.

I’d recommend Time4Learning.com for anyone who homeschools or is considering homeschooling.  With the low monthly cost, money-back guarantee, and ability to cancel at any time, you really have nothing to lose.  If you find it’s not right for you, you’ll be free to try something else.  I’m convinced, though, that Time4Learning is a fine homeschool program that most anyone will find to their liking.

The opinions presented above are mine.  I would like to disclose that I have been supported in writing this review by receiving a free month or equivalent to write a review of the program.  This payment has in no way influenced my opinion of the program.

About ceciladkins
Cecil Adkins creates worlds and characters for print and electronic media. His short stories have been published in the Allegory, Circle, DreamForge, and Inditer e-zines. He also writes about massively multi-player role-playing games for Examiner.com, MMORPG.com, and MMOSite.com. He lives in Huntington, WV, with his beautiful wife, Tiffany, and their two wonderful children, Jakob and Jenna.

One Response to Time4Learning.com (Review)

  1. Abrena says:

    I am too a fellow T4L lover!!!! I chose to go with http://www.Time4learning.com because I had been using a popular book curriculum that wasnt working for us and we just couldnt afford to spend out ALL that $$money again just to be dissapointed with a new brand of curriculum.So when we found T4L and relised we could try it out with out risking our money we jumped on it..Its been 3 yrs and we are still happy and my son who is 3 yrs just started thier Pre-K program 🙂
    Anyways I just want to add that I also recommend this Curriculum to anyone thining about or is already home-schooling!
    Abrena~>home-schooling mom of 6 years

Leave a comment